Driving Under The Influence

Our experienced criminal defense lawyers at Legal Grit, PLLC represent individuals all over the State of Florida who have been charged with Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”). 

Under Florida Statute §316.193, to be convicted of DUI, the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the individual was: 

  • Driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle within the state; and
  • Under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or chemical substance to the extent that their normal faculties were impaired. 

While it might seem straightforward, DUI laws are extremely complicated in Florida. Even if you’re not actively driving the vehicle on the road or you blow under the legal limit, an officer can still arrest you for DUI. If this happens to you or your loved ones, you need a Boca Raton DUI lawyer to assist you and obtain the best possible outcome in your case.


Do I still need a lawyer for a DUI if I blew over the legal limit? 

DUI laws in the State of Florida are extremely complicated. Just because you blew over the legal limit, doesn’t necessarily mean that the breath test will hold up in a court of law. Any number of things can go wrong with a DUI arrest: the initial arrest by police officers. could’ve been improper, the breath test could’ve been administered incorrectly and not to standards, and more. To schedule a free consultation based on the specific facts of your case, call us today at 561-331-4476.

What is the legal limit for a DUI in Florida? 

Any individual found driving or in actual, physical control of a motor vehicle with a level of .08 grams or more of alcohol per 210 liters of breath or 100 ml of blood (Blood Alcohol Concentration “BAC”) can be arrested and charged with a DUI.

What are the possible penalties for my first DUI?

  • Up to six months in jail or up to nine months if your BAC was .15% or higher.
  • $500 to $1000 in fines or $1,000-$2,000 if your BAC was .15% or higher.
  • 180 days to one year of license suspension.
  • Installation of Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle for up to six months.
  • One year of probation.
  • 50 hours of community service.
  • 10-day vehicle impoundment.

Can I be charged with a DUI even if I’m not driving the car? 

The short answer is yes. All the State has to prove is that you were either operating the vehicle, or that you were in actual physical control of the vehicle. Florida judges have previously ruled on what constitutes “actual physical control.” To schedule a free consultation based on the specific facts of your case, call us today at 561-331-4476.